Welcome To Stopadoodledoo's Retro World

Welcome fellow retroettes to my blog the date is 19th January 2011 but im hoping to take you back to the far off days of black and white TV and the sounds of the 50's 60's 70's & 80's music, films, & products, of those far off days when everything was a whole lot better.

No rules really just no swearing and i ask if you take anything from this site you please do not put it anywhere else this is for YOUR personal pleasure Only and if you need to join the larger files please use Hjsplit.

I'm Now Going To Concentrate On The Charts From 1952 - 1990 The Whole Top 40's Or What They Were Back In The Day. If Anythings Down Please Message Me So I Can Then Sort.

So sit back and enjoy with me once again the golden age of RETRO.

Stopadoodledoo..........A.K.A. Jimbo.

Tuesday, 7 February 2017

Roy Wood Boulders 1973 Special Edition

And The Second From 1973 Boulders.....

All songs written by Roy Wood.
01. Songs Of Praise - 4:39
02. Wake Up - 3:20
03. Rock Down Low - 3:50
04. Nancy Sing Me A Song - 3:25
05. Dear Elaine - 4:07
06. a)All The Way Over The Hill/b)Irish Loafer (And His Hen) - 4:49
07. Miss Clarke And The Computer - 4:19
08. When Gran'ma Plays The Banjo - 3:12
09. Rock Medley: a)Rockin' Shoes/b)She's Too Good For Me/c)Locomotive - 7:30
10. Dear Elaine (previously unreleased rough mix) - 4:10

Boulders is the first solo album by Roy Wood. Apart from harmonium on track one played by John Kurlander, all the instruments (including guitars, cello, saxophones, recorders) and voices were by Wood, who also wrote, arranged, and produced the whole album, and did a self-portrait for the front cover. Issued on Harvest, it peaked at No. 15 in the UK Albums Chart The album also peaked at 176 on the US Billboard 200.
Most of the album was recorded while Wood was still in The Move, although it was not released until he had left the Electric Light Orchestra and was fronting Wizzard. Two singles were taken from the album, "When Gran'ma Plays the Banjo" (February 1972), and "Dear Elaine" (August 1973). The latter reached No. 18 in the UK Singles Chart.
"Rock Down Low" and "The Locomotive" were sometimes featured by Wizzard in their live performances.
"Songs of Praise" was recorded by the New Seekers and reached the last six for the British entry to the 1972 Eurovision Song Contest.
Wood had previously attempted recording "She's Too Good for Me" in 1968 with Move bandmate Trevor Burton, before re-recording the song entirely himself for "Boulders". These early attempts were released on The Move Movements boxed set and on Anthology 1966–1972.
Boulders was reissued on CD by EMI/Harvest in August 2007, with an additional 'rough mix' of 'Dear Elaine".

Please Remember To Say Thanks And Enjoy !!!


No comments:

Post a Comment